75 – Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind (2004)

I wish someone had taken the time to smother me before this film started.

I wish someone had taken the time to smother me before this film started.

I’ve seen this film about 8 or 9 years ago when it first came out and it wasn’t for me.While I’ve been travelling around here the last 2 months i like to talk film with people.One person i asked what his favorite film was and he said this was.I said it was a bad film and i didn’t like it.But now with a second viewing i think i can amend my views and say it’s a terrible film and i hate it.It’s going to be one of them films i’m going to put on the list of films i never want to see again.Clementines personality is just so loathsome to me.Everything about her pisses me off.I’m by no means a misogynist or anything but she just seems like an attention whore and needs everyone to pay attention to her.She’s a bad girlfriend for one,constantly belittling Joel and making him feel like shit and for no apparent reason.I know the memories are meant to be in reverse order and she’s gets nicer the further back they go but the last scene where they meet up again and play each others tapes it seems like they bypassed the good bits of the previous relationship and went straight to her being a bitch.The film’s a good original concept i have to hand it to whoever came up with it,either Gondry or Kauffman.Gondry did The Science of Sleep after this and both films have similar elements.The only other bit i liked was the Beck track.But that’s credit to Beck not the film.

IMDB RATING      –     8.4
MY RATING     –    6
SEEN BEFORE     –     YES
RECOMMEND?     –     NO
OVERALL     –  WOMEN ARE CRAZY

 

Leave a Reply

